130 taluks in 23 districts of Karnataka are declared flood-hit

Spread the love

The Karnataka state government has declared 130 taluks in 23 districts of the state as the most affected regions by flood on Thursday by following through the reports of Karnataka State Natural Disaster Monitoring Centre (KSNDMC).

The state government has given the necessary instructions to the local administrations for working on providing the required relief measures. According to the government order, the relief measures in the flood affected areas need to be in accordance with State disaster relief fund (SDRF) norms and the government circulars need to be followed in timely manner.

The government has duly noted that the state had heavy rainfall in August and inflow from Maharashtra into the Krishna Basin has led to flood in North Karnataka. Around the same time, large destruction was caused by floods in the coastal and Malnad regions. Belagavi, with a count of 14 taluks is the worst affected by the floods, whereas Chamaranjanagara and Mandya had only one taluk declared in the flood-hit areas. CM Yediyurappa had instructed a central team on Monday to assess the damage. The team estimated a loss of ₹ 8,071 crore because of the floods. The rainfall has taken over 20 lives and caused damage to more than 10,000 houses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!