7 cabinet ministers take oath on cabinet expansion in Karnataka

Spread the love

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa has expanded the state cabinet with seven members who have taken the oath in a ceremony on Wednesday and further indicated that excise minister H Nagesh would be dropped off from the cabinet.

At the ceremony held in Raj Bhavan, Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the swearing of the ministers to the office and secrecy. The seven new ministers inducted to the cabinet are MLAs Umesh Katti (Hukkeri), S Angara (Sullia), Murugesh Nirani (Bilgi) and Arvind Limbavali (Mahadevapura), and MLCs R Shankar, M T B Nagaraj and C P Yogeshwar.

At the induction ceremony, Yediyurappa along with his BJP leaders and colleagues which comprises of Arun Singh, General Secretary-in-charge, Nalin Kumar Kateel, state unit President, other senior government officials and also the family members of the ministers were present.

Post taking up the post in July 2019, under Yediyurappa, this would be the third time changes are being made to the Cabinet as the revolt of 17 MLAs invoked the collapse of the Congress-JD(S) government. Yediyurappa kept up his word and inducted BJP MLCs R Shankar and M T B Nagaraj, who had helped in BJP take the charge of the state. Both of them had been a minister representing the Congress-JD(S) coalition.

While seven ministers have been inducted to the cabinet, alongside, Yediyurappa announced the eviction of H Nagesh, Excise Minister, which will still have a berth vacant in the state cabinet, where a maximum count of 34 members can be appointed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!