August 17, 2022

A special committee created for reviewing Dec 15 Karnataka Council chaos

Spread the love

A special house committee has been formulated to investigate the chaos created pertaining to a no-trust motion passed against Legislative Council chairperson K Pratapachandra Shetty.

The committee, constituted by Shetty, was created exactly at the demise of Council deputy chairperson Dharme Gowda, who was heckled amid the confusion and chaos on December 15.

The committee comprises of members from three political representations. The committee, led by JD(S) MLC Marithibbe Gowda comprises of Congress leaders B K Hariprasad and RB Thimmapur and BJP leaders H Vishwanath and S V Sankanur.

Shetty told to Deccan Herald, “The special committee had to be constituted to inquire into the role of everyone present in the House that day, including officials and the marshals. The committee will also examine the role of the government in the incident. It will be given 20 days’ time to submit a report. The report will be submitted to the House.”

Shetty further said the members were chosen based on equitable representation of all parties and particularly those members were selected who were not a part of the ruckus. He added that he was supposed to take the decisions independently. He further expressed his regret over the incident and said about using the procedures to address any lapses on the part of chairperson. On December 15, with a no-motion passed against Sheet, ruckus erupted in the entire Council, where the seat was passed from Shetty to Dharme Gowda by the ruling party.

error: Content is protected !!