12 flood rescue teams reserved for immediate response as relief measures for Cyclone Tauktae

Spread the love

As many as 11 Indian Navy Diving Teams have been kept on hold as a standby and a count of 12 flood rescue teams and medical teams have been reserved for immediate response considering the situation of the cyclonic storm Tauktae.

Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh had organized a meeting to assess the preparedness and assistance catered by the Armed Forces to civil authorities to deal with the situation invoked by Cyclone Tauktae.

An official statement from the Ministry of Defence about the meeting stated, “Twelve flood rescue teams and medical teams have been earmarked for immediate response and deployment. Repair and rescue teams have also been formed to undertake urgent infrastructural repairs post-cyclone if required.”

The statement added, “Three ships (Talwar, Tarkash, and Tabar) are on standby with aid and relief material for immediate assistance to affected areas, if required. Balance ships on the Western seaboard are also on standby for assistance to fishing boats/ small boats stranded due to rough weather. The Navy’ s Maritime Reconnaissance aircraft on surveillance are continuously broadcasting cyclone warnings to fishermen.”
The statement further added, “Indian Airforce has deployed its aircraft to transport personnel and tonnes of a load of NDRF to Ahmedabad. On May 16, IAF had deployed two C-130J and one An-32 aircraft for transportation of 167 personnel and 16.5 tonnes of a load of NDRF from Kolkata to Ahmedabad. Another C-130J and two An-32 aircraft carried 121 NDRF personnel and 11.6 tonnes of load from Vijayawada to Ahmedabad for the same purpose. Two C-130J aircraft transported 110 personnel and 15 tonnes of cargo from NDRF from Pune to Ahmedabad.”

At the virtual meeting also present were Chief of Defence Staff General Bipin Rawat, Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Karambir Singh, Chief of Air Staff Marshal R K S Bhadauria, Chief of Army Staff General M M Naravane, Defence Secretary Dr Ajay Kumar and Secretary Department of Defence R&D and Chairman, DRDO.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!