Karnataka all geared up for Covid-19 vaccine dry run in 5 selected districts

Spread the love

A dry run for Covid-19 vaccination drive will be organized in five districts of Karnataka – Bengaluru, Mysuru, Belagavi, Shivamogga and Kalaburagi on Saturday. While the BBMP has detected three Primary Healthcare Centres (PHCs), which are selected as vaccination sites, one each in West and South Zones and Anekal whereas the other four districts have selected PHCs, taluk hospital and district hospital for the immunization programme.

The BBMP have elected five vaccination officers, each for Kamakshipalya urban PHC (west zone), Vidyapeeth urban primary healthcare (south zone), and Haregade PHC in Anekal which is located in the Bangalore Urban district. The officers will be subjected to training session on Friday.

Shivamogga district has also chosen Shikaripura taluk hospital and Antharagange PHC in Bhadravati taluk for the dry run apart from McGann hospital.

Shivamogga District Health Officer, Dr Rajesh Suragihalli, said, “Each site will be manned by five members comprising a medical officer (doctor), two vaccinating officers (one male and female), a data entry operator (who will verify documents and upload data online) and a security officer.”

“The five-member teams, three rooms, biomedical waste management, adverse event following immunisation (AEFI) tagging, will be prepared as per the Covid vaccination operational guidelines. At the end of the day, feedback will be taken from these districts and challenges faced will be submitted to GoI,” said Dr Rajani Nageshrao, Deputy Director, Department of Health and Family Welfare.

The Central government has issued the orders to the states to choose the areas which have poor logistical support and in tough terrain, though Dr Nageshrao said, “Karnataka has no such areas. It was randomly selected. The main objective is to see if the CoWIN (COVID-19 Vaccine Intelligence Network) portal runs smoothly.”

He further added, “Following immunisation, each beneficiary will be observed at least for half an hour in the AEFI room. At a time, a maximum of five beneficiaries will be observed. In the actual vaccination, we intend to vaccinate 100 people a day per site from 9 am to 5 pm.” For the remaining districts, like Belagavi, Vantamuri urban PHC, Kittur Community Health Centre and Hukkeri general hospital will be a part of dry run and for Kalaburagi, the medical care centres selected for dry run are Ashok Nagar urban PHC, Jewargi taluk hospital and Aurad Rural PHC. Also, for Mysuru, according to Dr Ravikumar L, Reproductive and Child Health Officer, the selected centres are urban CHC Jayanagar, Bilikere PHC and KR Nagar taluk hospital.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!